I returned this morning from Paradiso, Colombia where life moves at the pace of growing grapes and from a country that feels safe and at the same time uneasy.  Everywhere I went I saw checkpoints manned either by the military or by the police.  At the malls providing security in front of banks and other establishments where money is exchanged were men holding shot guns.  At stores, such as GEF, a sort of GAP type store the person that greeted you was a security guard and the detectors of merchandise.  “Do you work here?” I asked the guard who impeded my entrance into this store.  He answered yes.  “O.K., where do I find clothing that will protect me from mosquitos? I asked the store guard who suddenly didn’t work there anymore.  He referred me to a sales associate.  When I went into an Apple store the employees descended on me like the mosquitos and no-see-ums I was battling in Santiago de Cali.  I find these establishments with helpful employees annoying.  Please greet me and leave me alone until I have a question to ask you. I’m typing this account from a library in Queens, New York since I haven’t yet turned on the Dell Inspiron.  I always hate returning from a trip to find a computer that is not responsive, like the New York Port Authority’s Train to Plane.  Nowhere did anyone post any signs that the transit system was out of service.  I took a bus to Federal Circle after being told this one would take me to Jamaica Center.  It didn’t.  I walked from there to a bus stop about a mile away.  I could have taken a bus from the front of the terminal had I not listened to the woman who directed me to that bus.  Welcome to New York City where the Third World surpasses it by decades.  This cesspool of a city is really a turnoff for visitors and residents who return from overseas.  I deliberately did not take a taxi because I was not in a mood to discuss short or long trip with the Pakistani taxi drivers that infest our Taxi System.  I was  tempted to take a gypsy cab but decided against it.  The driver looked Middle Eastern also.  Sorry if I sound dejected and bit racist. Across from me are four children greeting another child.  They are all wearning yarmulkes.  Welcome to New York City..