U.S. District Court

For The District Baltimore City Seal

of

Maryland

 Motz/5A  10:00 AM Rearraignment USA v. Ahmad Abdul-Rahim  JFM-13-0448    ** Baltimore, Maryland**

I just happened to walk by the U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland on Monday, September 23, 2013.  I had been looking for a Bank of America, my wallet was light on cash but heavy with plastic, and I had just enjoyed a quick breakfast after using my last dollars.  I was on a desultory walk with no particular path to my destination which was my bed at the hotel.  I could see the tall building and the logo on top of my hotel from where I was standing enjoying an interesting sculpture.  Next to the sculpture was a vehicle that didn’t obviously belong there.  I tried to ignore it as I took a few pictures with my camera.  As I was looking through the lens, I noticed an imposing building to my left and a fountain in front with plenty of grass on both sides of it.  The sculpture, the fountain and the car were providing protection from the east.

0923030917

I continued walking uphill to see why this building required so much protection.  A visitor’s entrance and an employee’s entrance could be seen and I finally realized that this was a Court House. 0923031048b
Since I had nothing to do but sleep, I entered through the visitor’s side to continue being a tourist.  Nice displays greeted me and a sign welcomed me to continue on to the third floor.  “Why not?” I said to myself.  After seeing the displays the, Library was straight ahead.  “All you have to do is to sign in,” he explained what I had to do to just look around this law library.  What an impressive collection.  Almost as impressive as that of the Universidad Santiago de Cali. 0923030813
I had really nothing in mind to peruse, but I did find something interesting about Thurgood Marshall and other things  on Job Discrimination, and Immigration.0923031010Oh, I did enter Motz’s/5A.  I listened with reverence Judge Motz’s questions and statements to the accused.  I had no idea what this case was about but the name of the accused is what made me enter this room.  Ahmad Abdul-Rahim. See more below…

Guilty plea in stolen waste vegetable oil case

College Park man pleads to transporting stolen property

September 23, 2013|By Timothy B. Wheeler, The Baltimore Sun
The owner of a College Park waste collection business pleaded guilty Monday to transporting stolen property as part of a scheme to steal waste vegetable oil, the U.S. attorney’s office announced. Ahmad Qaabid Abdul-Rahim, 37, admitted in a plea agreement entered in U.S. District Court in Baltimore to receiving nearly $99,000 for selling more than 94,000 gallons of stolen waste vegetable oil during a nine-month period last year. http://articles.baltimoresun.com/2013-09-23/news/bs-md-waste-oil-theft-20130923_1_plea-agreement-guilty-plea-waste