English: Magnus Carlsen
English: Magnus Carlsen (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“It’s clear that he dominated.

 

At the start of the match I thought my chances depended on my ability to last long games without making a lot of mistakes. This year I had a lot of problems with mistakes creeping into my play. I kind of tried to pay some attention to that. In the end it was in vain because the way I lost the fifth game is exactly the way I thought I could not afford to lose. I mean, just a fine position in the opening, then slowly slip and so on. The fifth game was a heavy blow because I really hoped to not be afraid of him in long games but simply to try and match him, but this was not to be. After that it just got kind of worse and worse. Yesterday at least was nice game, today again… I guess when it rains, it pours.”

“Anyway, I think it’s fair enough to just congratulate him. My mistakes didn’t happen by themselves, clearly he managed to provoke them, and full credit to him.”

“At the end of the day my play in the match was a big disappointment. I didn’t manage to achieve any of the things I tried to aim for.”

photo
photo