when Neil Diamond’s voice brought me back to the present.

I find myself torn between two cities on the east coast of the United States of America.  One is Forest Hills, Queens, New York City and the other is in Florida.  I know I can adjust to life in this relatively flat state, but figuring what to do besides my passions, is what is vexing me.  Maybe I’ll take some classes to learn how to cook for real.  Go back to get more ratings.  Return to the air in the capacity of pilot or just bum around the beach watching the women walk by while I read a fascinating book.  Start waxing my skis.  Colorado and its mountains are already beckoning me or Colombia where I spent a few years enjoying life. I’ll have to make up my mind before I decide to seek public office in this town. All the choices are good but I don’t want to continue this desultory existence.

I Am… I Said”

L.A.’s fine, the sun shines most the time
And the feeling is “lay back”
Palm trees grow and rents are low
But you know I keep thinkin’ about
Making my way back

Well I’m New York City born and raised
But nowadays,
I’m lost between two shores
L.A.’s fine, but it ain’t home
New York’s home,
But it ain’t mine no more

“I am”… I said
To no one there
And no one heard at all
Not even the chair

“I am”… I cried “I am”… said I
And I am lost and I can’t
Even say why
Leavin’ me lonely still

Did you ever read about a frog
Who dreamed of bein’ a king
And then became one
Well except for the names
And a few other changes
If you talk about me
The story’s the same one

But I got an emptiness deep inside
And I’ve tried
But it won’t let me go
And I’m not a man who likes to swear
But I never cared
For the sound of being alone

“I am”… I said
To no one there
And no one heard at all
Not even the chair
“I am”… I cried
“I am”… said I
And I am lost and I can’t
Even say why
“I am”… I said
“I am”… I cried
“I am”… I said

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/neildiamond/iamisaid.html